France Honors American World War Veterans

France has not forgotten the sacrifice of the American soldiers who bravely fought alongside France during World War II. Paying tribute to these WWII veterans is a way to express France’s gratitude.

JPEG American WWII veterans who fought on French territory are eligible to receive France’s highest decoration, the Legion of Honor. The National Order of the Legion of Honor was created by Napoleon Bonaparte in May of 1802. It recognizes eminent services to the French Republic.

The Legion of Honor divided into five categories: Chevalier (Knight), Officier (Officer), Commandeur (Commander), Grand Officier (Grand Officer) and Grand Croix (Grand Cross). The highest degree of the Order of the Legion of Honor is that of Grand Master, which is held by the sitting President of the Republic.

Foreign nationals who have served France or the ideals it upholds may receive a distinction from the Legion of Honor. American recipients include Generals Dwight D. Eisenhower and Douglas MacArthur, Admiral Michael Mullen, and even, as an institution, the United States Military Academy at West Point.

Since 2004, American veterans who risked their lives during World War II and who fought on French territory qualify to be decorated as Knights of the Legion of Honor. Veterans must have fought in one of the four main campaigns of the Liberation of France: Normandy, Provence, Ardennes, or Northern France.

To learn more about eligibility and submit an application, download the file below.

Word - 102.5 kb
Legion of Honor Proposed Memory
Application to print, fill, and send back to the consulate.
(Word - 102.5 ko)
(Word - 102.5 kb)

Interested veterans must send the complete file to :

Consulate General of France in Atlanta
Buckhead Tower at Lenox Square
3399 Peachtree Road, Suite 500
Atlanta, GA 30326


Last modified on 16/06/2016

top of the page